“Reading is everything…”

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it’s a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it’s a way of making contact with someone else’s imagination after a day that’s all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

— Nora Ephron

 

I don’t know about you, but reading is so incredibly important to me. It’s beautiful and, inevitably, it changes you. We often take books for granted. A quick trip to the bookstore, a click on a website, a library card, and the book (or, in my case, the stack of books) is ours. I took a moment today to think about how my life would look without the countless books I’ve read in my lifetime. I could tell you of the many ways this moment impacted me, but instead I ask that you take a moment and reflect for yourself. You will probably have a similar reaction to mine. It may seem trivial, but let’s appreciate the books in our life today.

 

Rant over! Any comments are welcomed 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy's Fantastical Writings
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 14:45:18

    It seems like no matter how much my life changes, I still have my books on my bookshelf, or at the library. It’s remarkable how much you rely on your books, especially if you have that one you go back to when you’re having some problems, or just want to read for the heck of it. Book are like a good old friend that always listens to you. 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what you think

