FAE Blog Tour!

Blog Tour 1

Hey everyone! Today I have the privilege of hosting a review and an interview with Colet and Jasmine Abedi, authors of FAE. Firstly, I get to tell you guys some stuff about this great book!

“Enchanting. Loveable. Forbidden. I had to stop.”

coffee to goCoffee To Go: Dreamy quote, isn’t it? Who doesn’t love stories about forbidden, star-crossed love? Fae is oh, so touching and sweet. It brings the fantasy realm into the normal realm rather than the other way around as most novels do. There’s an eerie prophecy, a hot guy, a really relatable and funny protagonist, and did I mention FAERIES?! Besides that, if you love covers as much as I do, just look at it!! It’s visually stunning. I literally just stared at it (again) for the last few minutes.

Gushing over, I promise. You can read my full review here. It’ll give you the plot synopsis, publication info, a feel for the characters, the setting, and some cool Fae quotes. Read the review–you won’t regret it!

Now onto the part of this post where you get to learn about the brains behind the book.

Hello ladies, thanks so much taking the time to talk with me!

Our pleasure…thank you so much for giving us this amazing opportunity.

Of course! In Fae, we find out that Caroline has a pretty important lineage. Pulling the story of Roanoke into faerie lore is so creative! What inspired you to connect those concepts?

What happened to The Lost Colony is one of those great American stories that’s shrouded in mystery. You had this group of people that came here from a foreign land, hoping to start a new life and they just disappeared.  As a writer you can take so many creative liberties with this, you can play with this world and dream up your own version of what happened to them.  We both have always had a great love of mysticism and magic, we thought what would be better than bringing the world of the Tuatha de Danann (Fae) to the romantic setting of Roanoke and then add a real historical element with the Lost Colony.  It kind of lends itself to the perfect backdrop for an epic romance.

I completely agree, it’s the perfect backdrop. Let’s talk about Caroline. I love how honest and relatable she is. Even as she’s falling fast for Devilyn, she’s feisty and holds her ground. Is there a piece of Caroline in either of you?

Colet:

There’s a bit of Caroline in me for sure. I’m not a runner but I am a dreamer like Caroline. And I’ve always been told that I’m a bit of an old soul.

Jasmine:

I would certainly hope so. Caroline represents a character that we think any woman would/should truly aspire to be. So, if someone who knows us says that we have any similarity to her, it would be an honor. There is such an element of innocence that surrounds her, but beyond that she’s also an old soul, and wise beyond her years. She carries herself with such grace and dignity, she’s strong and intelligent and also incredibly giving and loyal. And as you said, she’s incredibly feisty and doesn’t let anyone bring her down, or at minimum doesn’t let anyone see her sweat.  

Devilyn *swoon* goes through a ton of character transformation in Fae. I had so much fun getting to see him grow into his potential. Did he surprise you at all when you were writing the book?

Devilyn was fun to write.  As women, it is an incredible opportunity to be able to create a character and watch him grow into what we believe will be the perfect man (or as close to that as possible). He really did change quite a bit in the first book from where his journey began and to where he stands in the end and it’s not the choice that we really want him to make.  His conflicts with Caroline lie with his strong desire to want to shield her from pain and sorrow.  So even though it may not seem that way, he comes from a good place and he’s deeply virtuous.  He’s also handsome, chivalrous and smart…  So an incredible combination.

I really felt that the quotes beginning each chapter helped cement the themes in Fae. If you could communicate one message to readers through this book, what would it be?

Thank you! We absolutely love those quotes as well.  There is definitely a strong message of fate and the role that destiny plays in ones life. The universe has a way of making things happen for you just the way it’s supposed to.  There is definitely a lot written in those stars we see in the sky, so we should let them guide us.

The book’s ending definitely leaves me asking questions; I am so curious to see what’s next for Caroline and Devilyn! Can you give a teaser of what we can expect in the next book?

There are definitely going to be some major challenges for Devilyn and Caroline in Book 2.  Devilyn chose to play with magik.  And when you play with fire, you inevitably get burned.

Amen to that! I’m so excited to see it all play out! Now, I want to hear about you guys!

 What’s your choice comfort food?

Colet: Pizza- mushroom & pepperoni. I’m easy.

Jasmine: I love my mother’s spaghetti Bolognese.  It is heavenly.

 What is your biggest pet peeve?

Colet: People who are not open minded and people who don’t like dogs. I’m a huge animal lover so I have a bit of a problem when there’s no love for our furry friends.

Jasmine: Messiness…I’m pretty much a neat freak and a little type A in that department.

Where is the easiest place for you to write?

Colet: On my balcony late at night. Love to look up at the sky.

Jasmine: My bedroom.  My office is in my bedroom, and I think it’s the most comfortable and tranquil room in our home.

What’s your all-time favorite book?

Colet: I know it’s an epic poem but mine really is Paradise Lost by John Milton.

Jasmine: I wish I could say it was something intellectually insightful, but if I’m being honest it is definitely Paradise by Judith McNaught.  I think I’ve read it over 100 times.

If you could meet any author, who would it be?

Colet: William Shakespeare. My sister and I can share a time travel machine and I’ll pick her up on my way back when I’m done.

Jasmine: I would love to go back in time and meet Jane Austen.

What literary character are you swooning over right now?

Colet: Ashton from K.A. Tucker’s One Tiny Lie. Love.  

Jasmine: I can’t seem to get Devilyn Reilly out of my head.  Not sure it gets any better.  To be fair, I did have a bit of a crush on Christian Grey until the playroom doors opened and then I got a little freaked out by his intensity.  That’s not to say that I didn’t finish reading all three books in three days.

Now I hope you’re ready to answer this last question—it’s a big one! What caffeinated beverage can we find in your hand most often?

Colet: English Breakfast Tea

Jasmine: I drink passion fruit iced tea pretty much every day.

I hope everyone had as much fun with this interview as I did! 

Here’s a quick bio on these sisters:

C. J. Abedi is made up of the sister writing team Colet and Jasmine Abedi who wrote the upcoming series Fae.  They have always had a love of writing and began collaborating on many projects when they were very young.  Their passion for all things creative led them to the world of the entertainment industry where they have worked since completing their education. You can learn more about each sister here. You can buy Fae (at a great price) at Diversion Books.

Below, you can check out the Abedi sisters’ social media, an excerpt of Fae, the book trailer, and a link to the publisher.

          

Tomorrow on the blog tour:  http://brandyjellum.blogspot.com/

Tell me what you think

