Review: Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Entangled TEEN

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Series:  Lux #4

Pages: 400

Release Date: August 27th, 2013

Rating: 071913_0709_ReviewThron2.png071913_0709_ReviewThron2.png071913_0709_ReviewThron2.png071913_0709_ReviewThron2.png071913_0709_ReviewThron2.png

Summary from Goodreads:

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

__________________________________

coffee to goCoffee To Go: Love, love, loved it! Readers can expect more depth in relationships and higher stakes. Aliens just got real in this riveting novel—if you want more Daemon, here he is! I devoured Origin.

ENSUE GUSHING:

So…I can gladly say that Jennifer blew my very high expectations out of the water. First of all, we get Daemon’s snarky, funny, and tender viewpoint for about half of the book. We can check alternating Daemon/Katy POVs off of the “awesomeness” list. And those plot twists! I was shocked by almost all of them. This book is nearly impossible to put down. The depth of Daemon and Katy’s relationship is beautiful. I mean, their kisses were kind of perfect too…*swoon*

I really like how Jennifer touches on some deeper topics, such as the definition of humanity and humane treatment, etc. without making the book feel too heavy. Origin brought forth a wealth of emotions from me: I laughed out loud, I rolled my eyes, and I cried—there was a point in the book (I will not say where) that I knelt on my knees so upset that I could not breathe normally.

Another little fun tidbit for those of you who have read Obsession, I definitely squealed when Hunter made an appearance. I was all like, “I know him! OMG Daemon, he’s a good guy!” and basically had a fangirl freakout. I do have an issue with one thing: Jennifer writes too slowly. The cliffhanger she leaves you with is absolutely torturous. Why Opposition isn’t out until almost a year, I do not know. I need it. Like, now.

If you even moderately liked any of the other Lux books, you will love this one. I think that this is her best one yet—it takes the readers higher and lower and farther than any of Katy and Daemon’s previous adventures. Do yourself a favor and start reading it already. If you need to start the entire series, go get Obsidian and get on this train!

Memorable Quotes—

“I don’t expect a normal life. I just expect a life with you.” –Kat

“I’ll burn down the world to save her.” –Daemon

“Sometimes words were cheap. They could be powerful, but in those rare occasions like now, words meant nothing.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 16:10:55

    I just bought “Obsidian” and am so excited to start it. It sounds like a great series!

    -Grace

    Reply

Tell me what you think

